Transplant Athlete
Monday, March 14, 2005
  Illegal Organ Scams

With all the talk recently about soliciting donors over the internet, its easy to forget that there are blatantly illegal websites out there that do more harm to the transplantation process than a thousand people using matchingdonors.com, TV, and their own personal websites could ever do.
This is one such example: http://www.organassociates.com/
Organ Associates:
This site guarantees an organ transplant within one week of receiving between $175,000 and $200,000. They vehemently deny that the donors are getting compensated, but in the US, presumably where costs are higher, A transplant will cost your insurance company around $75,000 to $100,000. So, where is all the extra money going? Now, that’s assuming that this site is legitimate. I wouldn’t be surprised if they took your money and ran. All they would need would be one desperate person to send them $200,000 and they would be set, and believe me, people looking at possible death can get pretty desperate. They request proof that you have the money on hand. Also they say, “do not tell us you are financially qualified unless you are financially qualified today.” There’s a lot more of the “cash on hand” and “I can verify immediately,” language all over the website. Looking more and more like a scam to me. I wouldn’t be surprised if they asked for the bank account information up front “to verify the information” and then they try to pull the money out. I just “whois”ed them on Network Solutions: Alan Raines, PO Box 1602, Anywhere, US 55555 – medtransplant@yahoo.ca - phone 555-555-5555 the hosting service is based in Argentina, the email address is from Canada, and the zip code, city, and phone number are fake. A legitimate company doesn’t fake this information, ever.

Then there is Transplant Coordination Services who didn’t even bother to put up an elaborate website, just “We expertise in coordination of fast and trustfully service of organ transplantation in various centers around the world.” which has a better faked “whois.” The address which looks fake is in Manhattan and has the wrong zip code and the guy’s email address is professor.shapira@gmail.com – the phone number is 212-354-3476 which looks fake, but I’ve made that assumption before and I’ve been wrong. This site was registered through a company in Kingston, Jamaica.


Email This Article
Comments: Post a Comment
I've gone through kidney failure twice. The first time in 2000, my mother donated a kidney; and again in 2008, I'm on dialysis waiting for a breakthrough in immuno-suppression medicines before seeking a new kidney.

January 2004 February 2004 March 2004 April 2004 May 2004 June 2004 July 2004 August 2004 September 2004 October 2004 November 2004 December 2004 January 2005 February 2005 March 2005 April 2005 May 2005 June 2005 July 2005 August 2005 September 2005 October 2005 November 2005 December 2005 January 2006 February 2006 March 2006 April 2006 May 2006 June 2006 July 2006 August 2006 September 2006 October 2006 November 2006 December 2006 January 2007 February 2007 March 2007 April 2007 May 2007 June 2007 July 2007 August 2007 September 2007 October 2007 November 2007 December 2007 January 2008 February 2008 March 2008 April 2008 May 2008 June 2008 July 2008 August 2008 September 2008 October 2008 November 2008 December 2008 January 2009 February 2009 March 2009 April 2009 May 2009 June 2009 July 2009 August 2009 September 2009 October 2009 November 2009 December 2009 January 2010 February 2010 March 2010 April 2010 May 2010 June 2010 July 2010 August 2010 September 2010 October 2010 December 2010 January 2011 February 2011 March 2011 April 2011 May 2011 June 2011 July 2011


Warning Signs for Kidney Disease:

  • High Blood Pressure
  • Burning or Difficulty when Urinating
  • Frequent Urination at Night
  • Blood in your urine
  • Cola or tea colored urine
  • Swellig of the eyes, ankles, or feet
  • Lower back pain unrelated to physical activity

Send Me Email:

Blogs I Read:
Ultra Rob
Get Rich Slowly